Fake meat on the menu
"Meat Glue": A Threat Or Not?
There's been a spate of recent publicity on celiac websites involving the safety of "meat glue," a product that butchers and others apparently use to bind different cuts of meat together. You can find meat glue in some processed meat products, and (perhaps) in some seemingly whole cuts of meat.
Technically, meat glue is made with an enzyme that, in its pure form, does not contain gluten. However, the enzyme is calledtransglutaminase... and this is almost certainly where the confusion surrounding meat glue and its safety comes in.
normally found in human intestines, also is in the transglutaminase enzyme family, but it's not the same form of transglutaminase that's found in meat glue. In , our systems make antibodies to our own tissue transglutaminase enzyme, causing our immune systems to attack our intestinal linings
Since the form of transglutaminase found in meat glue is not the same as the enzyme normally found in our intestines, it therefore shouldn't affect celiacs in any way.
Now, there could be a problem with the added ingredients that, in addition to transglutaminase, make up the meat glue product. For example, Japanese company Ajinomoto Food Ingredients L.L.C. makes several different formulations of transglutaminase meat glue marketed as .
One form of Activa that's marketed specifically for binding wheat pasta together does appear to contain wheat. The others do not, but do contain potentially questionable maltodextrin, which may or may not be derived from wheat, depending on the country of origin. Many formulations of Activa also contain milk-derived sodium caseinate.
Ajinomoto has released a statement regarding saying that consuming meat glue is similar to consuming naturally-occurring compounds that occur when you cook meat and fish. Transglutaminase is safe for people with celiac, according to the company.
In addition, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration has classified transglutaminase-containing meat glue products as "Generally Recognized as Safe," or GRAS.
If transglutaminase meat glue is used in a product, it must be identified on the ingredients label as "TG enzyme," "enzyme" or "TGP enzyme." In addition, meats that contain transglutaminase will be labeled as "formed" or "reformed," as in "formed beef tenderloin," or "reformed beef tenderloin pieces."
So is meat glue a threat or not? The transglutaminase enzyme should not harm celiacs, but the additional ingredients it contains may or may not be safe. Would I eat a product that contains it? No ... but I eat practically no processed foods anyway. This is one case where you'll need to use your own best judgment.
Video: Meat the Truth - FULL DOCUMENTARY
How to Be Indispensable as a Senior Employee
How to Get a TCP License
Treatment of Low Testosterone
Could we be in a relationship with the same man
Women Are Obsessed With This Hat That Doesnt Mess Up Your Hair
How to Capture Analog Video
Victorias Secret Is Collaborating with Balmain for This Years Fashion Show
30 Amazing Benefits Of Vitamin B For Skin, Hair And Health
CT Scans and Cancer
8 FAT LOSS TIPS FOR A LEAN BODY
5 types of foods you should avoid when you have cold
How to Buy Shoe Orthotics
Hope Therapy Helps Fight Depression
20 Swoon-Worthy Lilac Hairstyles